Skip to content

What To Write In Stone

January 2, 2010

The church of my childhood has its name, service times and minister’s name etched in stone out front. Changing anything on it likely will require significant effort and expense.

Written in stone

At the start of 2010, as I reflect on where I’ve been and where I’m headed, the notion of what to write in stone vs. what to write in chalk looms large.

I like what Thomas Jefferson said on this:  “In matters of style, swim with the current; in matters of principle, stand like a rock.”

My list written in chalk is pretty long. Exercise frequency, clothing, hair style and color, how I arrange my office, how I get things done and many other things will change many times this year. Any of these decisions can be reversed or altered at any time without much downside.
Other choices I’ve made are, as far as I’m concerned, chiseled in granite. Decisions to follow Christ and grow old and ugly with my spouse…in stone. As are the 1985 choice to stop smoking and 2000 vote to stop drinking.

So far so good in 2010, though the in-stone decision to radically reduce sugar consumption is proving a challenge this weekend. Mom and dad have a house full of leftover holiday goodies. Expressing more generosity and gratitude round out my in-stone list.

It will be interesting to see how it all plays out in 20 years. The goal is to make decisions today that please God — and spare the 67-year-old version of me grief. Experience shows that if I involve Him, the latter is guaranteed.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 4, 2010 2:30 pm

    Very nice, pass the chisel… and Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

